I’m Back.

No, it’s not time.

Outside of vacation, I had some time to think. I had one of those “let’s change things” brains over on vacation, and all of the sad feelings that I’ve had about this blog crashed down on me when I was most vulnerable. Originally, I thought that I was stepping back, and getting perspective, but now, I realize that I was wrong.

Here’s what told me that I needed to quit. In list form, because I like lists, and so can you.

  1. Stats. I was getting less stats than usual lately, and that was getting me down. I felt like I was writing to an empty room, and no one likes that.
  2. Schedules. Recently, I’ve been posting around once a week. It seems fine from the outside, but it actually takes a lot out of me. After a while of that schedule I created a while ago, I felt pressured, and writing for the Fortress wasn’t as fun as before.

Here’s where I was wrong.

  1. Who cares? I actually spiked after I stopped, proving that people are still interested, and I’m not stuck in a rut, I’m just in a down period.
  2. Schedules are bullshit. If I don’t have anything to write about, I’m not going to go out of my way, or force feed something down my dreadfully swollen writing organs. You’re welcome for that image.

But there are a few things that had quite literally kept me up at night directly after I had called it quits. In the post where I celebrated the Fortress’s second birthday, I promised you all that year three would be even cooler than year two, and how can that be true if I kill the blog before year three even ends?

And I started this blog expressly to do movie reviews, because my sister had already taken book reviews, however long that lasted. (Not very long). I thought that my first review could be Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens. Now, no one knew anything about that movie at that point, except that it was happening. It was probably around three years away at that point. Maybe my gullible eighth grader self didn’t realize that, or just didn’t care, but my first movie review was Star Trek Into Darkness, after a very poor foray into book reviews.

It was that night, trying to get to sleep, that I realized that even though I felt like I had finished, I hadn’t. I made a promise to my readers, who have been nothing but good to me, that I had decided not to keep, and I didn’t even review the one thing that I specifically set out to review. I wrote all of that off as teen angst, but it drilled into my head over the next couple weeks, and stayed there, growing in size.

I realized that I had forgotten about my mission. I had forgotten about my promise, and I had left open ends. I don’t like that, or even the thought of that. I do things, and I do them right. If I started something, then I damn well am going to finish it, and I’m going to finish it right. And, right now, I have no plans to end the Fortress.

So, I’m back. It’s a new me, and it’s a new Fortress. From now on, I won’t give a damn about stats, or numbers on a spreadsheet. They don’t matter, and they don’t mean shit against the actual people who have supported me over the last couple years. I won’t post every week unless I actually want to, and I won’t trap myself in restrictive schedule that blows the whole damn blog for everyone.

I’ve been working hard on a long and good review of Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation for the last couple of days. Is it better than Ghost Protocol, the best spy movie of all time, in my opinion? Find out in a few days, or maybe directly after I published this, which seems to have happened by accident a couple seconds ago when I hit “publish” instead of “save”. Whoops.

Anyway, yeah. I’m back. Thanks for sticking it out.

Adam Mlodzinski

Join The Discussion!

