The End.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it’s time.

On vacation, I had some time to think, and I was wondering if it was finally time to say goodbye to the Fortress. After much deliberation, I can say, that yes, it is.

Over time, and more specifically recently, I’ve had some trouble writing here. I don’t think that a typical “review” style of writing is really for me anymore, and I found that recently, writing on the Fortress has been somewhat of a chore. That’s that last thing that I want it to be, because this is all for me. No one told me to do this, and this is not an assignment. The Fortress is over two years of hard work and dedication from a teenager who loves what he does. That’s me.

So, this is it, and I’m sad to see it go, but I’ve moved on, and I say that with a smile, not a frown. You know, the Fortress of Helixity started as a joke. The name, I mean. That was a stupid little pun I came up with on the spot, when, years ago, I was creating a small blog that would grow to be something better. Even the original URL was a joke, because I was watching an X-Men movie, and I knew nothing about the X-Men. After a while, I changed the URL, because I ended up really liking the X-Men, but no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t change the name.

I’m glad that me and my blog are parting with happiness, and not sadness or anger, because nothing would make me more sad than if I had to leave the two of us on bad terms. So the Fortress is going away, probably forever. But this shouldn’t be sad, It should be happy. The two of us are moving on, and I have some people to thank.

I have 54 dedicated people who have followed me, some from the very beginning. Some, however, are from very recently, so I’m sorry that this is the first post you will receive in your inbox. (His name is Michael S. Fedison, and his new book is called The Eye Dancers. Check it out here, I owe him that much.) Two of those are my parents, and one is my sister, and they have given me nothing but support through this wonderful journey. As of right now, there are 8,135 (and yes, that’s the exact number, aren’t I lucky?) people, some of whom are repeats, who have glanced at my blog and given it a chance. 54 of those people decided to stick around for the ride.

And what a ride it has been. I can’t say that I was writing Shakespeare, but I sure had a lot of fun doing it. I hope you, dear reader, had some fun along the way, too. Because I only write everything, and without you, I would have given this whole adventure up a long time ago. That’s the best thing I could have ever asked for. But, I don’t really like goodbyes. So why don’t we call this… See you later?

Thank you everyone, for everything. I had fun, and I hope you did, too. If you didn’t, well, then, take it up with someone else. I’m leaving.

Adam C. Mlodzinski

Join The Discussion!

