“Go Canadia!” (We Stand on Guard #1)

We Stand on Guard #1
The gorgeous cover for the first issue.

I went to my local comic book shop last Wednesday to pick up Batman Beyond #2, and Secret Wars #4. But, I also neglected to remember that a bunch of comics that I wanted to check out released in July. One of those was Onyx. I have no idea what it really is, it just feels very Metroidy to me. But, as you may have noticed, the title of this review does not say Onyx, it says We Stand on Guard. So, I saw that one while looking a section specifically for new Image comics. I picked up We Stand on Guard #1, and dropped Onyx #1. So… We Stand on Guard?

In the future, the USA and Canada are at war. The US have leapt ahead with the use of massive war robots, (ala Pacific Rim), and they have Canada on the run. But the more the US tightens their grip, the more Canada slips through. An underground resistance has started to come up into the light, and they’re getting more powerful everyday. The US still has the advantage, but the Canadians may have their day in the sun soon enough.

Even though I knew somewhat a lot about We Stand on Guard before it came out, It was still somewhat of an impulse buy. And, I can definitely say that I do not regret it. The characters are pretty fun to be around, and I was genuinely worried when they were in distress. It made me laugh, the story shows signs of growing to epic proportions, and the art is fabulous. There are two splash pages in the first issue that absolutely blew me away by how beautiful they both were. These definitely set the tone for the first issue. 8 out of 10.

Brian K. Vaughn has created an amazing world in We Stand on Guard, and has set off a story that I think will be remembered for years to come. In addition, Steve Skroce has outdone himself, and has peppered Vaughn’s dystopian future with pages full of wonder and awe.

2 thoughts on ““Go Canadia!” (We Stand on Guard #1)

Join The Discussion!

