“I ‘Love’ This Show” (Gotham: Lovecraft)

Gotham (Poster)
That could be the batsignal in the back.

Gotham! I watched the first episode of this show when it aired, and then stopped. I don’t remember why. Don’t ask. Anyway, it actually was pretty intriguing, and I decided to go back and watch some more of it on the internet. But, since Fox has decided that it can only hold five episodes at a time on it’s website, (and I refuse to pirate it) I ended up watching episode one, and then seven onward. And I’m two episodes behind. So, I’m going to call this a review of episodes 1, 7, 8, 9, and 10. Yeah!

Jim Gordon is a new recruit in the police department of Gotham City. Consequently, the Waynes (one of the riches families on the block) were just killed, and left little orphan Batman with only the coolest butler ever. Assigned to both veteran Harvey Bullock and the Wayne murders, Jim must thread the needle between the GCPD, who want him gone, and the local mobs, who want him dead.

Of course, I missed five episodes somewhere in the middle, but this show is pretty awesome, right now. Great characters, a consistently interesting storyline, and some pretty great acting (even with the kids!) makes Gotham some very superb TV. But here’s why I’m worried. The show is moving too fast. Very early on, we see Bruce “testing himself”. He’s already training to become something more. It may not specifically be Batman, but he’s definitely looking for a higher purpose. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing. But when you take into account that this is the first season, and I presume that Fox is trying to take this show somewhere (season 2 has been confirmed), where exactly are they going to take it?

Good and Bad Sides (Gotham)
Harvey Dent is there too!

I’m afraid that they’re going to have to escalate more and more and more and more until they’re so far away from the comics that the show is almost unrecognizable. There are a bunch of villains in already, with most of them doing nothing special, but I’m worried that the Riddler or Poison Ivy will have to wait until season 6 or something, just twiddling their thumbs until the writers think of something to do with them. So, for now, I’m both very impressed, and very interested. But I’m watching closely. 7 out of 10.

Despite giving up on it early, Gotham has now caught my eye. It’s well acted, well written, and also a lot of fun, while paying homage to the massive Batman continuity. But, it may be moving too quickly for it’s own good. We’ll all have to just wait and see.
Join The Discussion!

