The Best Movies of 2014 (According to Me)

It’s almost 2015! Can you believe it? I sure can’t. Then, we get Age of Ultron, Jurassic World, Mission Impossible 5, and Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens. Looking back though, 2014 was a great year. Want to get a closer look? Take the jump!

The LEGO Movie (The LEGO Movie)
A poster for the LEGO movie videogame

The LEGO Movie (February 7th)

I have a really bad sense of foresight when it comes to kids movies. When I saw the trailer for Frozen, I got really confused, and then convinced myself it would bomb. When I saw the trailer for The LEGO Movie, I thought: “Hah! That’s not real.” But sure enough, it was, and I saw it. It is honestly, one of the best animated movies I’ve ever seen. Combining kids movie fare, with fun pop culture references and laugh out loud humor, The LEGO Movie is much more than I thought it would be.

The Monuments Men (February 7th)

I’d been wanting to see this movie ever since I saw George Clooney’s face in the trailer. I missed it in theaters, but found it in Comcast’s On Demand. Sure enough, it was not one to be missed, despite getting mediocre reviews. I still really don’t know why.

America in IMAX (Cap 2 The Winter Soldier)
The IMAX poster for The Winter Soldier, which in my opinion, should have been the regular poster.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April 5th)

In my opinion, The Dark Knight is the best superhero movie ever made, as well as being the best comic-book movie put out by DC as of now. However, the best Marvel movie? Captain America: The Winter Soldier. This movie perfectly encapsulates the drama, action, and morals of one of my favorite super heroes.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (May 2nd)

Even while this movie was critically panned, I still think that it’s pretty good. Sure, it’s not the best Spider-Man movie (Spider-Man 2), but it sure is good, and it’s no Spider-Man 3. It may not be filled with deep messages about power and responsibility (which is a shame), but it is just pure fun.

X-Men: Days of Future Past (May 23rd)

The latest installment in the X-Men movie franchise is undeniably the best. With returning characters new and old (excepting Nightcrawler), and an awesome time travel plotine that completely erases the events of the godawful The Last Stand, this movie is a winner for any fan of the comic books. Even I haven’t read the original comic storyline, but I still love the movie.

EGGS! (The Fault in Our Stars)
That guy can’t move, he’s blind, and Tris over there can’t breathe.

The Fault in Our Stars (June 6th)

Okay, I admit it. I didn’t want to see this one. To me, it just looked like another young adult mess, full of angst, unnecessary romance, and a general “teenage” feel to it. Oh, I was wrong. The Fault in Our Stars makes my list because at one moment, it was breaking my heart, and at the next, it was warming it. Now, I won’t read the book, because I’m too busy to read something that I already saw. But, if the book is anything like the movie, then it’s good in my opinion.

Edge of Tommorow (June 6th)

Coming off of the poorly rated Oblivion (which I really liked, by the way), Tom Cruise took the box office by storm with this inventive sci-fi action movie. Groundhog Day meets Source Code when Cruise must fight off an army of aliens, resetting the day whenever he dies. Soon, he makes powerful allies, and is fighting a war for humanity.

The Team (Guardians of the Galaxy)
The Guardians can take Green Lantern on any day!

Guardians of The Galaxy (July 31st)

For a while, Marvel Studios has stuck to what they know. Guardians of the Galaxy is their first “new” movie since 2011, and it just so happens to be one of the best. Working just as well as a comedy as it does an action movie, Guardians scores a top spot on my list as a piece of the ever expanding MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe), and as it’s own movie.

Interstellar (November 5th)

Sure, it may be a hassle, clocking in at around three hours long, but this new movie from Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight, Inception) is without a doubt the best new movie this year. This is science fiction at it’s best, and a must watch for every fan.

Too Cute (Grumpy Cat Christmas)
Oh, now that is just too cute.

Grumpy Cat’s Worst Christmas Ever (November 29th)

Yeah, I’m ending this list with Grumpy Cat, and not Matthew McConaughey. Well, it’s by dates anyway, so it dosen’t mean anything. Anyway. This was a made for TV movie, featuring the voice of Aubrey Plaza (Parks and Recreation) as Grumpy Cat. Sure, it may be made for TV, and it may not be all that good, but it made me smile. And that’s all Grumpy Cat is for, right?

Join The Discussion!

