“2014: A Space Odyssey” (Interstellar)

Interstellar (Poster)
In Interstellar, Matthew McConaughey travels to the ice planet of Hoth.

Recently, I went to the movies with my family. Of course, that gave me the hardest choice since the second season of ArrowMocking Jay: Part One, or Interstellar. If you payed enough attention to read the title of the article, then you already know that I chose Interstellar over The Hunger Games. And yes, it was a hard choice, but I definitely made the right one.

In the near future, food is in shortage, and lethal dust storms rack the planet. A former shuttle pilot turned farmer named Cooper stumbles upon the remnants of NASA along with his daughter, Murphy. Soon enough, he’s asked to fly through a wormhole, on one last desperate mission for the survival of the human race.

At first, I was a bit skeptical of this movie. Coming in, I thought it would be great, but then it started talking about ghosts and stuff, and I got a bit nervous. But really, I wasn’t worried. The movie still had three hours to tie everything up, and that’s exactly what it did. By the end, I really was devoted to the story, and I did care what happened to the characters. I was holding my breath when Cooper was in trouble on Mann’s planet, and I was grinning in hope when they were trying to re-attach to the Endurance.

There were points in this movie that just blew me away. The realistic take on space travel is just icing on the cake for me. The interesting and show-stealing robots were icing on the cake, and so was the immense human drama and father/daughter story going on in interstellar space and back on Earth. Ultimately, the cake was a beautiful and unforgettable space opera of exploration and humanity. Interstellar is a modern masterpiece, and should be remembered for years to come. 10 out of 10.

Backing up it’s engaging storyline with impressive special effects and top notch acting, Interstellar is some of the best science fiction I’ve had the chance to experience in years. An imaginative and brilliant SF plot churns the engine of this behemoth, delivering high quality thrills and wonder on a regular basis. Sit back, relax, and prepare to be amazed.

3 thoughts on ““2014: A Space Odyssey” (Interstellar)

  1. The father/daughter relationship really got to me as well. I enjoyed that it seemed to be the real focus of the film, even more than saving humanity.

    Great review, and I too loved the film.

Join The Discussion!

