“It’s Like The Last Stand Never Happened!” (X-Men: Days of Future Past)

X-Men Days of Future Past (Poster)
The poster for X-Men: Days of Future Past, with Magneto’s mutant high-five.

I did it! I made it almost half a year, and finally got to see the new X-Men movie, Days of Future Past! But wait! What if I went back in time, and convinced the producers of the movie to release it on DVD just a few days later than usual? Then, I wouldn’t have seen the movie yet, and I wouldn’t be writing this post right now. Rather, tomorrow or the next day! Time travel just blows my mind.

In the 70’s, scientist Bolivar Trask creates the Sentinels, dangerous machines designed to target mutants and exterminate them. After Mystique kills Trask, the world is motivated to go forth with the Sentinel Program, and uses her DNA to make the robots more dangerous. Now, in the future, the Sentinels are almost unbeatable. They have become ruthless killing machines, able to adapt to any attack. And to add insult to injury, the Sentinels started to evolve, and target anyone with the chance of having mutant children, or any relation to them. With the humans all but exterminated, and the few mutants left in hiding, the world needs the X-Men. But the only person who can really stop all of this is over 40 years in the past.

As I said before, I’ve been waiting a long time to see this movie past it’s release date in theaters. I really shouldn’t be surprised, as I don’t see many things in theaters, but it’s still been a substantial amount of time. Anyway, it’s safe to say that I was pretty psyched to see this movie, and it most definitely didn’t disappoint. It was action packed, hilarious (in a cute reference or in-joke sort of way), interesting, and had just the right amount of social commentary that I’ve come to expect from the average X-Men storyline.

Quicksilver (X-Men DoFP)
Watch out, Avenger’s Quicksilver. X-Men’s Quicksilver is coming for you.

However, I was slightly disappointed that Kitty Pryde wasn’t given more of a spotlight, as she was the main character in the original comics storyline. Still, though, I can understand the decision to keep Wolverine as the main character. Quicksilver is officially the coolest part of the movie, and the Quicksilver in the upcoming Avengers: Age of Ultron now has a lot to live up to. Even so, is Days of Future Past the best X-Men movie? After much deliberation, yes, I can say that it is. 9 out of 10.

X-Men: Days of Future Past is everything that I could have wanted and more. It definitely knew it’s source material, offering little references at every turn, and the time travel was done so well, I almost don’t want to go back to this week’s Doctor Who. With a superb storyline that basically gets rid of every other one, the bad movies have been quite literally replaced with a good one.

Join The Discussion!

