“How Many Times Can Wolverine Get Hurt?” (The Wolverine)

The Wolverine (Poster)
The poster for The Wolverine, from 2013

I’ve watched the four main X-Men movies. Of course, two other movies were made, X-Men Origins: Wolverine, and The Wolverine. If you can’t already tell, both are solo outings, starring the one and only Wolverine. The first, X-Men Origins: Wolverine, was supposed to be pretty bad. Or at least, that’s what I hear. I’ve only seen the first half, but I do know how to do a basic Google search. Anyway, I really had no interest in that, but I did see The Wolverine on TV, so I recorded it.

While mourning the death of Jean Grey (who we all know should be with Scott anyway), Logan lives a secluded life in the mountains. When a strange acquaintance of a man he saved from the bombing at Hiroshima finds him and tells him that the man would like to help Logan, he’s dragged into a conspiracy with the Yakuza.

To be honest, I was expecting pretty good things from this movie, and it totally delivered. There were just some amazingly awesome moments in this movie that I just couldn’t help smiling through. In fact, one of the best was directly after Logan was impaled through the chest. This happens a lot. He gets cut in the face and other places, shot repeatedly, hit by a nuclear blast, and literally cut in half!

Silver Samurai (The Wolverine)
The Silver Samurai, fighting Wolverine

Now, if there was one downside to the movie, I would say that Jean Grey is literally haunting me with her presence in this movie. I don’t know if I’m the only sane man left on the planet, but I, for one, think that Jean Grey should have always been with Cyclops. I mean, I know that the writers wanted to make Logan all “angsty”, but still, come on. 9 out of 10.

While I feel that Wolverine should have been outshined by other X-Men in the team during the overall-team-up-movies, in his own movie, Logan was really given time to shine here. Judging by all of the other times Logan was hurt (X-Men: The Last Stand, X-Men Origins: Wolverine), I’m glad that they gave Wolverine this chance.

Join The Discussion!

