“No Fault in These Stars” (The Fault in Our Stars)

The Fault in Our Stars (Poster)
The poster for The Fault in our Stars, from 2014

Another day, another adaption… Today, The Fault in Our Stars, originally by John Green. I didn’t really want to see this movie, I would have much preferred The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (I still haven’t seen that yet), X-Men: Days of Future Past, or Edge of Tommorow. But of course, my sister read this book earlier, and every single YA novel just has to be a movie today.

Teenager Hazel Grace has a very fatal strain of Cancer, one that will kill her if she dosen’t stay on an oxygen tank at all times. When she meets Augustus Waters at a support group, she falls in love at first sight, and they go on a romantic trip in Amsterdam, to meet with the author they both love.

Okay. Let me get something straight. I love action movies. If I had a choice, and lived alone, it would be all that I would watch. The only reason that I could find for disliking this movie was that it wasn’t really exciting. Really, that’s my fault. If I’m going to sit in one place for two hours, watching a movie, there better be explosions involved. But really, that’s not legitimate criticism, that’s merely me watching a film from another genre. Other than that, it was brilliantly well done, and surprisingly very funny. And yes, before you ask, I did shed just a few tears.

Overall, it’s only real downside was that it wasn’t exciting enough for me. But that’s not it’s fault. 10 out of 10.

Huzzah
John Green, congratulations.

The Fault in our Stars is a ridiculously good movie. I laughed, I cried, I sighed in boredom, (not it’s fault), but most of all, I enjoyed the superbly well done movie. With all of the YA adaptions that are coming to screen these days, some do well, and others… don’t. The Fault in our Stars passes with flying colors, and I’m glad my sister dragged me to it.

2 thoughts on ““No Fault in These Stars” (The Fault in Our Stars)

  1. Great! A positive review from a non-fan! This motivates me further to eventually see it! Nice write-up and you’ll have great fun with both X-Men and Edge of Tomorrow!

    1. Thanks for the comment! I’ve heard that both Edge of Tomorrow and Days of Future Past are great, so I’m excited. I’ll try to watch them as soon as possible, but there are no guarantees. :)

Join The Discussion!

