The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Dungeon Review (The Forest Temple)

Forest Temple Entrance (TP)
The entrance to the Forest Temple, inside a tree.

So, yeah. I was bored, so I decided to replay The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. Confirming your suspicions, I’m not done talking about Twilight Princess on this blog yet.

The Forest Temple is the first dungeon in the game. Originally, I hated this dungeon. It was dark, boring, and tedious. That was when I first picked up the game, and thought that it was pretty terrible. Anyway, halfway through the Forest Temple, I got stuck. I had no idea what to do, and I stopped playing Twilight Princess for about a year. When I came back, I had a guide from IGN, but I still didn’t like the dungeon.

Bokoblin on the Bridge (TP)
Link, facing a Bokoblin on the crossroads bridge.

When I came back, replaying the game, I started walking through it, and actually started having fun. It was an easy dungeon, and it was just second nature for the common Zelda player. The dungeon that I originally hated was actually not that bad. I really had no problem with the Forest Temple, and keep in mind that I had used that guide for the Forest Temple three years ago, so most of it was by reflex alone, not by memory.

In the Forest Temple, the item acquired is the Gale Boomerang. The boomerang houses the Fairy of Winds, allowing you to throw around bursts of wind, and use it to stun enemies and activate switches. This was a pretty cool item, and it was fun to use, but it wasn’t really used that much outside the dungeon. And, I do realize that it’s impossible to keep every item in circulation throughout the entire game, but this was a really cool boomerang.

Twilit Parasite Diababa (TP)
The (granted) impressive entrance of Diababa.

The dungeon itself was pretty well designed, and it was much better than I originally thought. Though, the final boss, Diababa was pretty bad, and I like Zant’s interpretation of the Forest Temple’s mini boss better than the original, which was pretty bad as well. 6 out of 10.

Overall, the Forest Temple is definitely better than when I last saw it, but there are still some aspects, like the final boss and the mini boss, that need touching up. However, I still enjoyed the dungeon, and the item acquired, and it was nice to see the Forest Temple in better shape than when I first left it.

2 thoughts on “The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Dungeon Review (The Forest Temple)

  1. SOMEONE IS ACTUALLY TALKING ABOUT TWILIGHT PRINCESS!! I THOUGHT I WAS ALONE!!!!! *ahem* While Twilight Princess certainly has it’s fair share of good temples (Arbiter’s Grounds, Sky City, even the Twilight Palace), it definitely has some of the most tedious, the Forest Temple is probably the biggest offender in my book. However, the boss, was not all that bad compared to others the franchise has had. It was pretty standard fair for a first dungeon boss, just a variation on a general long running “theme” in Zelda games.

  2. Well, I’ve only played Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword (though more may be coming soon), but Twilight Princess is superior in my opinion. The Forest Temple wasn’t “bad” in any right, just not up to par with most of the other dungeons that I’ve solved.

Join The Discussion!

