“Hey, Look Over There! This Movie Is Pretty Cool Too.” (X-Men)

X-Men (Wallpaper)
A wallpaper version of one of the posters for X-Men, from 2000

I’ll say the unspoken(ish) truth. I’m obsessed with superhero movies. I’ve watched pretty much all of the Marvel movies, and I’ve even seen a few DC ones too, like The Dark Knight, or most of the original Superman films. Like a true living, breathing, human being, I’ve been waiting anxiously for the day I get to see Captain America: The Winter Soldier, or The Amazing Spider-Man 2. But, until now, I haven’t really scratched the surface of another wildly popular superhero movie franchise. Admittedly, I have not watched a single X-Men movie all of the way through. I’ve been looking at them for a while, but I couldn’t seem to find one. Then, I realized that my local heaven on Earth public library has nearly all of the released six, including an extra copy of First Class for good measure. Anyway, the point is that I found one of them.

All around the world, mutants are being discovered, who possess strange and extraordinary powers. Some use their powers for good, like the X-Men, and some use their gifts for evil, like the Brotherhood of Mutants, led by the villain Magneto. Good or evil, it doesn’t matter to the governments of the world. What they want is discrimination, and unfair treatment of mostly confused people who really just want to live their lives. But, Magento, a sinister mutant who can control metal, is convinced that humans and mutants cannot live together. Now, it’s up to the X-Men to stop him before the general public’s view of mutants becomes true.

The Coolest (X-Men)
Obviously, the coolest character in the entire movie.

Like I said, I haven’t really watched a full X-Men movie, so I didn’t really know what to expect. Well, I loved it. It was awesome. There have been superhero movies with realistic aspects before, like Spider-Man, who I though always had a very realistic relationship with the press, but I really loved how the governments of the world reacted to mutants. It was really how I would think normal humans would react. Anyway, this was actually kind of an unremarkable movie until the halfway mark. That was when the movie really got good.

Anyway, I’m not sure why they kept focusing on Wolverine. Actually, I do. He was a pretty cool guy. But, I think Cyclops is obviously cooler, and Storm didn’t really do anything either. I just wish they could have branched out a bit more in the way of characters. Wolverine is cool enough, but the team felt a little imbalanced. 7 out of 10.

Overall, X-Men is a fun and thoughtful ride through an interesting world, with interesting and different superheroes. The whole thing was quite realistic, and also just a fun movie. I know I’ll be grabbing for the sequel soon enough.

2 thoughts on ““Hey, Look Over There! This Movie Is Pretty Cool Too.” (X-Men)

  1. I’ve felt for years that the X – Men movies focused too much on Wolverine. If you plan on watching the others, there is primarily more Wolverine and Le essential of anybody else, with the exception of First Class and X2.

    1. Well, I just watched X2 (and loved it), but my problem isn’t so much with Wolverine himself. He’s a cool guy with an interesting backstory, he’s funny, and I like Hugh Jackman’s portrayal of him. The problem I have is that there are so many other cool X-Men, but Wolverine is too constantly used.

      (In other words: I agree completely) :)

Join The Discussion!

