The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Dungeon Review (The City in the Sky)

After marathoning Skyward Sword for a few seconds, I decided that it was my moral obligation to go back to Twilight Princess and finish the City in the Sky. I have Din’s Silent Realm to complete in the Eldin Volcano area, then I go to the next dungeon after a few other things. Now, I have just entered the Palace of Twilight in Twilight Princess, because the game really isn’t even trying to pad itself anymore, and practically launched me into the next dungeon right away.

City in the Sky (TP)
A good, cinematic shot of the City in the Sky

Now, I have to say, that I really didn’t want to go back into the City in the Sky, and that kind of ruined my relationship with the dungeon when I figured this out in my head. In my opinion, when a dungeon becomes a chore, it kind of ruins the dungeon for me. Most dungeons have a very surreal and cool feel for me, until the action really starts, after the first few rooms.

When you get to around 50% (assuming that the final boss is 100% and the mini-boss is 50%), you really decide what the dungeon is, and if it’s good, then it’s good. If it’s bad at that point, there’s honestly not that much that can save the dungeon in the player’s eyes, save from the final boss.

Now, I’m not that big on actual effort, so my liking of any dungeon also depends on the number of high or low-stress rooms inside the dungeon. High-stress rooms are rooms that have multiple enemies, locked doors, puzzles with time limits, or puzzles that could result in damage to your life force or death. Low stress rooms are rooms with next to no enemies, doors without locks, no sort of time limits, and low stress types of puzzles. Yes, the high-low explanation works for puzzles as well.

High Stress Room (LBW)
An example of a reasonably high stress room, from the Thieve’s Hideout in “A Link Between Worlds”

But anyway, the City in the Sky didn’t have that many high stress rooms, and for that matter, not many dangerous enemies at all. There were a lot of Deku-Babas and Keese, but I don’t really consider those to be overly life threatening. I just didn’t like the size of the dungeon. There were 8 floors, with not that many rooms on each floor, and unlike the Arbiter’s Grounds or the Sandship, there wasn’t a clear way that I figured out how to use to traverse the floors with ease. I spent half of the time on the dungeon just trying to figure out how to get where I was supposed to go, let alone solve puzzles.

I also really didn’t like the musical theme. It was just plain and boring. In fact, on Sunday the 16th, the day that I finished it, I actually turned down the sound and just pulled up a playlist of Zelda dubstep on Youtube. It’s safe to say that the dungeon did get a very substantial boost in it’s cool-factor from then on. That leads me into my next point, incidentally. This dungeon looked very cool. I really wanted to like it. I mean, come on! A city! In the sky! That’s awesome! Occoco even warps you back to a shop! (Even though I never used it.)

Spider Man! (TP)
Oh! Hey look, a Double Clawshot! I talk about those later on! You should keep reading!

The point that I’m trying to make (excuse me if I’m rambling) is that the City in the Sky looked really cool, but it really wasn’t. In my opinion, most dungeons before it had a cool-factor that was severely lacking in the City in the Sky. Just to prove my point, I’ll make a list about the cool-factor of each Twilight Princess dungeon. Just for you.

  • The Forest Temple: None. But hey! It’s the first dungeon! No one (or at least just me) expects anything from those. Seriously, I’ve played two Zelda games and both of their first dungeons were horrendous. Though, I guess being the first is kind of cool…
  • The Goron Mines: You’re deep in a mine system, with lava everywhere! And you get the Hero’s Bow!
  • The Lakebed Temple: You’re underwater! And you get the Clawshot!
  • The Arbiter’s Grounds: You’re in an ancient tomb! With mummies! Like Indiana Jones! (Well, sort of.) But hey! Stallord!
  • Snowpeak Ruins: You’re in a mansion! On a snowy mountain! With Yetis! And soup!
  • The Temple of Time: You basically warp back in time to get into the temple! And it’s in the sacred grove, which is my favorite place to hate in Twilight Princess!

Probably the only redeeming factors in this dungeon are the Double Clawshot, and the final boss, Agorok. The Double Clawshot is merely another Clawshot that you acquire, which can be used in succession with your original Clawshot. Now, you can just shoot around, continually grappling to the next Clawshot latch without ever having to touch the ground.

Agorok (TP)
I was originally going to just put a blank picture of Agorok, but then I realized that this one was so much cooler.

The final boss was the Twilit Dragon Agorok, who was an actual dragon, which breathed literal fire. Of course, when my sister walked into the room, (she’s not a big Zelda fan, though not for lack of trying on my part) she commented that the fire was kind of just spewing out, and Agorok’s mouth was like a faucet. She wasn’t wrong.

Anyway, I really liked the way that the Double Clawshot was used, as you shot through the sky on Peahats and attempted to reach the back of the dragon, where his weak spot was held. Of course, Agorok was spitting fire through the air while you desperately tried to fly away with all the force that the chains in your Clawshots could muster. 6 out of 10.

The City in the Sky disappointed me. It looked really cool, but then just ended up being confusing, tedious, and an overall chore. That being said, I loved the Double Clawshot, and it sort of blew my mind how the makers of the game made the Clawshot that much better by just giving me another one. The final boss, as well as the mini-boss, was pretty great, as well as action packed, and cinematic and awesome. It’s not quite worth climbing through one of the worst dungeons in Twilight Princess, though I would say that you should probably decide for yourself.

Join The Discussion!

