“You Can’t Stop The Signal” (Serenity)

(Warning: MASSIVE SPOILERS will ensue in my review)

Serenity Poster
An enlarged wallpaper version of the poster for Serenity

I finished Firefly in under a week, so when I came into Serenity, I was excited. I had seen the movie, not really paying attention, before I saw the show, and though that it was pretty good. Of course, now I’m watching it after seeing the show, so there’s a lot more context.

Mal and the Serenity crew are where they usually are: on the edge. River’s condition seems to be worsening, and the crew have to unlock the secrets that the Alliance trapped inside her head in order to save their lives, and the entire ‘verse. Trapped between assassins, the Alliance, and the Reavers, Mal and his crew see their entire world crumble in front of them. The Alliance have seen River, and they have seen Serenity. They want their prized experiment back, and they will go to any means to get her. But Mal and his crew will go to any means to stop them.

I love this movie. After the quick ending of Firefly, we finally get some closure, and it’s amazing. The Reavers get a spotlight, who I always thought of as characters with huge potential. The origins of the Reavers are explored, River’s backstory is explored, and I also just enjoyed a new adventure. But, there were some things that stood out, namely in the characters.

Alliance vs. Reavers
An army assembled by the Alliance, in position above Haven

Character Differences

  • Mal was a bit different in the movie. He seemed a bit heartless. In the show, I could have sworn that he would have at least given that guy a short explanation before he shot him and left his body for the Reavers.
  • Simon was the most different. He seemed just really worrisome and pissed off all of the time. They dressed him in futuristic outfits, as opposed to the rest of the crew, who were in their usual clothes. Simon was always getting a fight with Mal, or just punching him, and was much less funny and witty. (Though I did enjoy it when he and Kaylee got together.)

Now, I’m going to continue, but I’m also going to spoil a really big thing. If you like SPOILERS, or have already watched the movie, then go ahead. But if you don’t like SPOILERS, or haven’t seen the movie, then feel free to read one of my other posts. I’m placing a continue option that hides the SPOILERS, but only if you’re reading this on my homepage.

Hi! I’m back! Now, the only other blemish on an otherwise perfect movie was the completely unnecessary death of Wash. He was impaled by Reavers for some terrible reason, and then it was just shrugged off, as the rest of the crew made their escape. He was saying an amazing catchphrase, too, and he was killed in the middle of it!

“I am a leaf in the wind – watch how I soar.”

– Wash, preparing to make his way through a battle between the Alliance and the Reavers

Watch How I Soar
Wash, getting into the zone.

This movie was a amazing, and it is not impossible to watch it before Firefly, which is a feat that most TV movie adaptions can’t brag about. Despite Simon’s differences, and Wash’s untimely death, I still can’t yell at this movie for too long. So, I have only one thing to say. Fox, you can’t take the sky from me. 9 out of 10.

Serenity

Based off of Joss Whedon’s Firefly

Release Date: September 30th, 2005

Director: Joss Whedon, with Nathan Fillion, Gina Torres, and Adam Baldwin

Runtime: 119 minutes (one hour and 59 minutes)

Serenity pulled in around $25 million (November 11th, 2005) with a budget of around $40 million

Join The Discussion!

