“What is The Ender’s Game?” (Ender’s Game)

Ender's Game Poster 2
There are many poster out there for Ender’s Game, but this is probably my favorite.

I read the novel Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card, a while back, so when I heard they were adapting it into a movie, I was excited! I love sci-fi adaptions! (RIP Robopocalypse) I actually missed it in theaters, but it finally came out on Comcast’s On Demand to rent, so I thought “why not?”

Ender Wiggin is a young and bright boy in a Utopian Earth living 50 years after an alien attack from extraterrestrials known as Formics. Ender is seen as the last hope for mankind, as the Formics build an army of their own. Ender is trained as a soldier, and eventually as a commander, but he must ultimately face a difficult question. What happens when the enemy you’ve been living in fear of for the last 5 decades aren’t really evil after all?

When I was reading this book for the first time, my grandfather asked me what the Ender’s Game was. I told him that I didn’t know. I think I now know the answer to that question. It’s making an amazing movie. Ender’s Game was, visually, an awesome movie. Now, it definitely was not lacking in any other evident department, but the thing that really set it apart from the novel was the visuals. I mean, yes, a novel couldn’t deliver all of the visuals that a movie could bring in, but it’s an adaption, so it’s nice to see a movie of this stature have a visual identity of it’s own. 9 out of 10.

Ender’s Game

Release Date: November 1st, 2013

Director: Gavin Hood, with Asa Butterfield, Harrison Ford, and Hailee Steinfeld

Runtime: 114 minutes (one hour and fifty four minutes)

Ender’s Game pulled in around $61 million (January 3rd, 2014) with a budget of around $110 million

Join The Discussion!

