The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Dungeon Review (Snowpeak Ruins)

I finally got myself to let go of Skyward Sword for the time being and get back to my first Zelda game, Twilight Princess. When I had left off, I was inside the Snowpeak Ruins, the fifth dungeon in the game.

Snowpeak Ruins Outside
An outside view of the mansion, dubbed Snowpeak Ruins.

You get to Snowpeak Ruins by ascending Snowpeak, a tall mountain covered in an eternal blizzard. You get to track the scent of a Reekfish up the mountain and meet a Yeti! I like Yetis. You go snowboarding (which I really enjoyed) down to the dungeon, which is actually the mansion where the Yeti loves with his wife, who has recently fallen ill, just as they had came into possession of a shard of the Mirror of Twilight.

You must clamber your way through the dungeon, and find the places that the Yeti’s wife tells you to go to. (She doesn’t have a good memory, and keeps leading you to pumpkins, or goat cheese, instead of the shard.) One of the first things that I thought when I entered Snowpeak Ruins was Is this really a dungeon? The answer: yes. Snowpeak Ruins is a dungeon.

The Ruins only have three floors, as opposed to the previous six, and I’m normally used to making my way through deep mines, ancient tombs, and dank undergrounds, not snowy mansions. You also had the Yeti husband making you healing soup, and the Yeti wife giving you directions. This was a very casual dungeon for me. I personally enjoyed it.

In Snowpeak Ruins, you get the Ball and Chain, an item used for tons of things inside the dungeon, like defeating various enemies, breaking ice off of things, breaking ice in general, and a few unique puzzling aspects in Snowpeak. One of the things that I thought was really cool (but also hated exponentially) was the mechanic that had you swinging from chandeliers with your Ball and Chain. Seriously, I was jumping from chandelier to chandelier by slamming a huge ball and chain into each ceiling fixture. How awesome is that?

Blizzeta (TP)
Blizzeta, the final boss for Snowpeak Ruins

I also really enjoyed the final boss fight, even though the mini-boss fight was average, if not fun. Blizzeta, the final boss, (who was the Yeti wife, but possessed by the Mirror Shard) had two phases. First, you had to just hit her around with the Ball and Chain, like those tiny enemies that bounced around and beat you up. But then, you had to run around, and avoid gigantic ice spikes that were falling from the ceiling. Then you had to escape the circle of spikes and hit Blizzeta with the Ball and Chain again. It was a good boss fight, all in all, but it did seem a little straight forward. I guess I’m just used to Koloktos and Stallord.

Snowpeak Ruins was not my favorite dungeon in Twilight Princess. I enjoyed it, and my casual relationship with it, but I think that my favorite Twilight Princess dungeon is (so far) the Arbiter’s Grounds, and I’m not expecting that to change anytime soon. Next challenger: The Temple of Time! 7 out of 10.

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

Snowpeak Ruins

Item Acquired: Ball and Chain

Final Boss: Blizzeta, the Twilit Ice Mass

2 thoughts on “The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Dungeon Review (Snowpeak Ruins)

Join The Discussion!

