The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword Dungeon Review (Lanayru Mining Facility)

Lanayru Mining Facility (Main-ish Chamber)
The main-ish chamber, for the Lanayru Mining Facility.

I finished the third dungeon in the game! The Lanayru Mining Facility! Now, this may seem like an inhuman speed to you, but keep in mind that I had finished the Earth Temple a week or two before writing it’s post. I also recently finished the Ancient Cistern, which I’ll have to talk about later on.

First off, I want to talk about the item that you got inside the Mining Facility. You got… the Gust Bellow! It’s a pretty stupid idea in theory, but it actually works out pretty well. I had a lot of fun using it in the dungeon, and the puzzles that the Gust Bellow was used in were creative and fun to solve.

Super Custodian (SS)
I’m like… A super custodian!

Of course, I was surprised by the method in which you acquired it, though. No mini-boss this time, just jump across a few platforms, open a chest, and claim your very own Gust Bellow. I kind of missed the half tense mini-boss fight, fighting a huge monster while trying to imagine how awesome my new item would be, and then get caught daydreaming, and lose a heart or two for it.

Timeshift Stones
A gif of Timeshift Stones in action.

Another thing that I really liked about the Lanayru Mining Facility was the puzzling aspect with the Timeshift Stones. These particular stones came up quite a bit during the long and tedious trek through the Lanayru dessert, but I think that they really shined throughout the dungeon itself, when you had to hit the Timeshift Stones placed through the dungeon to commence certain actions, like turn on conveyor belts and repair Propeller Platforms, and to plot paths through the many pools of Sink Sand.

Moldarach (SS)
Moldarach, the final boss for the Lanayru Mining Facility.

Now, I absolutely hated the first boss fight with Girahim in Skyview Temple, but I ended up loving Scaldera’s fight, so I had no idea what to expect going into the boss fight at the end of the Lanayru Mining Facility. Final consensus: I actually did love the boss fight, and from looking at the boss a bit, it’s weak points are pretty evident.

I was actually worried that Moldarach, the boss, would be less than straight forward, and I would have to complete some weird series of actions in order to defeat him, but no. Moldarach was pretty obvious, and It didn’t take me long to take him down. Seriously. I’m going to show you a picture of Moldarch to the right, and you can try to figure out how to defeat him. (Again with the eyes!) 7 out of 10.

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

The Lanayru Mining Facility, in the Lanayru Dessert

Item Acquired: Gust Bellow

Final Boss: Moldarach, the Thousand Year Arachnid

Join The Discussion!

