“Out With a Bang” (Sherlock: His Last Vow)

It's a Mind Palace
Magnussen, revealing the Appledore Vaults to Sherlock and John.

This is it! The end of Sherlock! Or at least Season 3. Again, just like the first episode, I’m a bit late to this party, mainly because, 1) I had an actual party the day of, and I was pretty tired, and 2) I was busy (totally not marathoning the Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword) on Monday. So, it took a while, but I finally watched it!

John goes to a drug hideout to find a friend, and ends up running into Sherlock, who was (apparently) undercover, and is not addicted to any sort of substance at all. Sherlock and John must unite against Magnussen, “the Napoleon of blackmail”. But as the plot thickens, It seems that everyone has their secrets to protect.

“Oh, do your research! I’m not a hero, I’m a highly functioning sociopath! Merry Christmas!”

– Sherlock Holmes

Huh. Was anyone else creeped out by Magnussen? I don’t know, Moriarty didn’t flat out lick someone. I want Moriarty back. (More on that below.) Though, I did get to see some of Moriarty, in a pretty awesome Mind Palace scene, with Sherlock trying to save his own life after being shot through the chest. If you’re new to Sherlock, this episode probably isn’t the best to start with. But, if you are a fan of Sherlock, don’t miss it for the world. 9 out of 10.

Wait for it.

Wait for it.

Wait for it.

Yes.
Yes. Yes I did.

Sherlock: His Last Vow

Sherlock: Season 3, Episode 3

Starring: Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, and Lars Mikkelsen

Join The Discussion!

