“Mistborn Ascending” (Mistborn: The Well of Asension)

The Well of Ascension
The edition that I read, from 2007.

Oh no! I really love Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series, and I just finished the second book, The Well of Ascension. So why the “oh no” you ask? Well, Mistborn is one of those series with tons of spoilers, and in which most of the main characters you like die. Seriously, this series is pretty emotionally damaging. But it’s so good, and I love it so much! (PS: SPOILERS may ensue within my summary.)

A full year has passed since Vin’s triumph over the Lord Ruler, the tyrannical dictator who ruled the Final Empire for nearly 1000 years. Elend Venture, an idealistic young nobleman, has risen to the throne, and Luthadel is enjoying a time of prosperity. The Skaa are free, an assembly has been set up in place of the former monarchy, and things are looking up for Vin, Kelsier’s crew, and all of Luthadel. But, violence is stirring, and multiple armies are marching to the city to take the Lord Ruler’s supply of valuable Atium that remains hidden, along with a dangerous and nearly mythical secret. The siege of Luthadel has begun.

This was such a good book. After finishing the first one, Mistborn: The Final Empire, I immediately rushed for the second. Wow. Ohhhhhh, this was so good. A few of my favorite characters died, and I was sad, but they had some pretty good deaths. I really enjoyed reading the finale at the end, where the Koloss stormed Luthadel. (It was even better ’cause I was playing epic music in my head.) 9 out of 10.

Mistborn: The Well of Ascension

By Brandon Sanderson

590 Pages

Published August, 2007

9 out of 10 (The Fortress of Helixity), 4.31 out of 5 (Goodreads)

Join The Discussion!

