“Space Opera at it’s Finest” (Pushing Ice)

Pushing Ice (Cover)
The cover for Pushing Ice, from 2006

Recently, I finished reading the book Pushing Ice, by Alastair Reynolds. I have greatly enjoyed Reynold’s work before, and I originally started Pushing Ice before, but stopped, after I didn’t really enjoy where the book was going. I was wrong. This was such a great book, and one of my favorite space operas since Century Rain. (I actually reviewed Century Rain before on my blog, though my reviewing then was subpar at best.)

Bella Lind is the captain of the mining ship Rockhopper. When the unexpected happens, the Rockhopper is pulled into a large scale game of space exploration, in which they are pawns at the hands of Earth’s corporations and dignitaries. Janus, the 10th moon of Saturn, has broken free of it’s orbit, and is making a heading out of the solar system at an advanced speed. The Rockhopper is tasked to shadow Janus on it’s path away from Earth, before it falls out of range forever.

This was a genuinely engaging and awesome book. I was literally on the edge of my seat, bending over above the pages. I ended up being so immersed in the world, and feeling genuinely attached to most of the characters. This is what I’ve come to expect from the typical Alastair Reynolds novel. The book was a bit confusing, and I did end up lost a few times, but the story always picked itself up soon enough, even after a chapter or two of dragging. 9 out of 10.

 

Pushing Ice

By Alastair Reynolds

464 Pages

Published June, 2006

9 out of 10 (The Fortress of Helixity), 3.96 of 5 (Goodreads)

Pushing Ice on Goodreads

Join The Discussion!

