Classic Doctor Who: The Tomb of the Cybermen

Tomb of the Cybermen (Cybermen)
Cybermen climbing out of their icy tomb after five centuries of hibernation.

(SPOILERS)

You know how I said in my last post that I had never seen a bad Cyberman Episode? Well, after watching The Tomb of the Cybermen, I think that statement is now null and void. The Tomb of the Cybermen wasn’t necessarily a bad Serial, but the numbers were stacked against it from the beginning. The Second Doctor, played by Patrick Troughton isn’t exactly my favorite, he’s my sixth favorite out of the seven Doctors that I’ve seen, though he did bump himself up past the First Doctor (William Hartnell) in this Serial. (David Tennant as the 10th Doctor still holds the privilege of being my favorite) and I’d like to think that i’m not this bias, but the episodes were old ones, and the entire Serial was in black and white. The Doctor had two companions this time around, Jamie and Victoria. Jamie was as awesome as he was in The Mind Robber, (I’ve been planning to review that one sometime soon.) But Victoria was new and kind of dumb.

The Second Doctor (Portrait)
The Second Doctor (Patrick Troughton)

On the barren planet of Telos, an archaeological expedition is on the verge of a major scientific discovery. The ancient tomb of the Cybermen, who have apparently died out centuries before, is about to be opened, just as the TARDIS lands in the area…

The Tomb of the Cybermen wasn’t a bad Serial. I enjoyed it, and the looks on my family’s faces as I watched it. (“You’re watching this?!”) Plus, the special effects were pretty good for their time. I also liked some of the insanely cheesy action scenes with Toberman and the Cybermen’s Leader. But still, these early Cybermen are still not on par with Nightmare in Silver. More like a Triple Bogey. 6 out of 10.

“The Tomb of the Cybermen”

Doctor: Second (Patrick Troughton)

Episodes: Four

Original Airdate: September, 1967

Rating: 6 out of 10

Join The Discussion!

