“Another YA Film: Good, but Still Mortal” (The Mortal Instruments)

City of Bones

(SPOILERS)

Yesterday, I watched the new movie “The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones”. “City of Bones” is the first installment in Cassandra Clare’s highly successful YA series. The series has spawned four sequels (with a fifth yet unpublished) and three prequels. I’m a pretty big fan of the series, (Not really the prequels, I couldn’t catch onto those) but I haven’t read the first book in a while. The book focuses on a young teenager named Clary Fray, who gets caught up in a world of Angels and Demons when she meets Jace, a Shadowhunter. Shadowhunters are half Human and half Angel, who spend their time protecting the Earth from the Demons who seek to destroy it. I wasn’t really expecting that much of the movie, but I was very pleasantly surprised. There were really only two bad things.

1. The motorcycles didn’t fly.

2. Magnus Bane

Hodge and Clary
Clary and Hodge share a glance in the library.

Fact. The motorcycles in the book flew. Fact. The motorcycles in the movie didn’t. Big disappointment? No. Small disappointment? Yes.

Now onto Magnus. Magnus Bane (Played by Godfrey Gao) was really the only thing that held the movie down. (If you don’t count the motorcycles) I had no problem with the casting that they made, except the only problem was all of his lines were spoken blandly, with no emotion. Well, there was some emotion. But most that emotion didn’t really fit the scene he was in. I think he does deserve a little slack, considering this is his first American movie. He has been in two foreign movies, and he did a Mandarin voice-over for Toy Story 3, as well as around 10 other foreign TV shows, from the years 2006 to 2012.

I conclusion, the movie was pretty awesome, and exceeded my expectations. It had a pretty great adapted plot, and my Father, who I brought along, said he could get into it pretty easily. I can see how it could be hard to follow for people who are trying to get into the series through the movie, but for a fan of the books, it was like meeting an old friend. 8 out of 10.

Join The Discussion!

